Search This Blog

Sunday, February 28, 2010

February 22nd- A glance at Helen Doron

Today was my first day at the school- It was really nice. We observed several different teachers- the 5 year olds were super cute, but everything was very repetitive. The 6 year olds amazed me- they were such a huge jump up from the 5 year olds. And then the 7 year olds even more, it makes me wonder why we don't do things like this in America. These kids know 2 languages very well by the age of 7! Obviously their vocabulary isn't the best, but as far as sentence structure and whatnot, they've got it down!!

Today, after observing, we had to present a lesson plan to the other Korean teachers, the director and assistant director. I think it went pretty well- they had just a little bit of advice for us, but it was all really positive. I think/hope I end up with the 6 year olds. All of the kids are so pleasant, there were a few that I think had learning disabilities, ADD/maybe some autism, but hard to say for sure! I will find out tomorrow which level I have- it is crazy that they do their birthday in Korean, so really they don't have birthday's, it just goes by the Korean new year- and they are the same age all year- I think I'm 25 or 26, haven't quite figured it out yet! After I get my level tomorrow, they have an orientation for parents/kids, new and returning to meet us (the new teachers for "next year"... aka next Tuesday!). We start a new year on Tuesday- the kids have graduation on Thursday and then we have a vacation day on Monday- followed by me starting teaching fulltime on Tuesday. It is really interesting- sometimes a waste of time at the school- I don't think I will have an afterschool class, not sure yet though. I would like one, because it's extra $$.

Everyone at the school is really nice- it seems like a great place to work. They have this thing called CCTV- which is basically a camera in every room, and the parents of the kids come in and watch us teach- it's kind of nerve racking, but I think it would be best if I just didn't know they were watching- but some of the moms come in and watch during the day for the fun of it- I don't think they work!

Today for lunch we had some nasty stuff- I'm going to start to bring my lunches next week as soon as I can go to the grocery store! It was rice, and then a pork thing with sauce, curry, and a whole bunch of fish- it was disgusting! :( For dinner tonight, we found a department store with a food court- it's so hard/difficult/frustrating not being able to communicate. Brandy and I found little signs, with pictures/English and brought it up to the ladies to order food- I got a burger w/fries I just needed something solid though, my stomach has been getting queezy with all of their food- it's just not filling or something, hence why they are all so tiny I think! I figure I have plenty of time to eat their food, at least for now I need to make my stomach feel okay... at least that's my reasoning for now.

Until next time!

No comments:

Post a Comment